曹斐

曹斐

#复魅:人民城寨的诞生

上海,中国

曹斐是活跃于国际舞台的中国艺术家。她的作品融合社会评论、流行美学,通过参考超现实主义并运用纪录片的拍摄手法,反映当代中国社会疾速发展的变化。

受UCCA Edge的委托,曹斐为该馆开幕户外展览项目“城市剧场:喜剧四幕”创作了一件多媒体互动装置《复魅:人民城寨的诞生》。曹斐根据从UCCA Edge东侧露台看到的独特景观,在2007年影像作品《人民城寨的诞生》的基础上,创作了望远镜形态的影像装置作品《复魅:人民城寨的诞生》。通过望远镜眺望远方,魔幻城市将取代现实的城市风景线。曹斐的超现实主义的艺术创作无疑扎根于中国超现实主义的时代背景之上,以游戏化的方式打造出跨越现实与虚拟的乌托邦。

UAP上海办公室与UCCA Edge合作,协助艺术家深化设计并制作安装了该作品。为了测试用户体验感,作品首先制作成纸板模型,在不断实验优化后,制作成以铝和不锈钢为材质的成品。 作品利用红外线感应装置,感应观众靠近播放音频。

图片鸣谢:尤伦斯当代艺术中心

#服务商

Consultancy

Design Assist

专项设计协助
材料与施工方法
Installation Methodology

Workshop

项目管理
装置

#项目概况

创意者

曹斐

艺术品名

复魅:人民城寨的诞生

项目

UCCA Edge

业主

UCCA Edge

年份

2021

位置

上海,中国

制作

UAP

#相关项目

Jason Bruges Studio

成都,中国

Jason Bruges Studio

追光逐梦

上海,中国

Philippe Parreno

带有律动的、超越既有生命力量的远航本能

Tamara Dean

悉尼,澳大利亚

Tamara Dean

由内向外

Cao Fei

Cao Fei

#Re-enchantment: The Birth of RMB City

SHANGHAI, CHINA

Renowned Chinese artist Cao Fei blends social commentary with pop culture aesthetics and references surrealism and documentary filmmaking in her works, commenting on the ongoing changes of contemporary Chinese society.

Commissioned by UCCA Edge to create an interactive multimedia installation for the art museum’s opening outdoor exhibition “Urban Theatre: A Comedy in Four Acts”, Cao Fei created Re-enchantment: The Birth of RMB City. Temporarily installed on the art museum’s fourth floor terrace, Re-enchantment: The Birth of RMB City sees Cao incorporate a view of Shanghai while building upon her 2007 video work The Birth of RMB City in an interactive binocular installation. Looking out towards the city, the Shanghai skyline is replaced by a fantastical urban landscape – the artist’s surrealist approach to depicting the effects of urbanisation.

UAP Shanghai was approached by UCCA Edge to assist the artist in the design and fabrication of this work. To test the visual experience of the user, Re-enchantment: The Birth of RMB City was first developed as a cardboard prototype, before being fabricated in aluminium and stainless steel.

The interactive element of the work is activated when a viewer looks through the binoculars and a motion sensor is triggered, playing film and audio directly though the binoculars.

Image Courtesy of UCCA Centre for Contemporary Art

#Services provided

Consultancy

Design Assist

Dedicated Design Assist
Materials and Construction Methods
Installation Methodology

Workshop

Project Management
Installation

#Project summary

Creative

Cao Fei

Artwork Title

Re-enchantment: The Birth of RMB City

Project

UCCA Edge

Client

UCCA Edge

Year

2021

Location

Shanghai, China

Build

UAP

#Related projects

Jonathan Jones

Sydney, Australia

Jonathan Jones

Waterwall

Tamara Dean

Sydney, Australia

Tamara Dean

Outside In

Alison Page & Nik Lachajczak

Sydney, Australia

Alison Page & Nik Lachajczak

Wellama

Shanghai, China

Philippe Parreno

With a Rhythmic Instinction to be Able to Travel Beyond Existing Forces of Life