毕蓉蓉

毕蓉蓉

#缝合的城市皮肤

伦敦,英国

UAP与艺术家紧密合作,将亚克力、刺绣、铝、LED屏幕、声音装置等材料整合到这一件艺术作品中。这个1.2米长、1.5米高的雕塑融合了编织、刺绣、锻造、镜面喷涂、数控雕刻和多媒体展示等工艺。

毕蓉蓉,1982年出生于宁波,现生活工作于上海。在近几年的生活工作中,她的作品与行走及采集紧密地联系在一起。艺术家认为,城市皮肤可以是雕琢在建筑物上的纹饰、包裹在身体上的织物的纹样、张贴于街头墙上的海报信息、扎根于城市角角落落的植被等等。毕蓉蓉将它们从不同的时间与空间中采集,汇入其独特的创作语境之中,并将它们经过手工或数码加工,从而形成了包括绘画,拼贴,织物,影像等,场域特定的装置等多种媒介在内的综合性创作手法。那些出现在她作品中的碎片化图案、纹样从原有的语境中抽离,以另一种方式自我生长,在新的空间中不断地转换成新的图像风景。

艺术家毕蓉蓉在劳斯莱斯艺术项目“缪斯”首届飞翔女神挑战赛中,获奖的作品名为《缝合的城市皮肤》。这件作品是一次对传统与创新的编织:作品由三层二维平面组成,其中包括经过特殊锻打处理的金属、光点闪动的LED屏,还有与中国传统钩针工艺交织创作的有机玻璃。作品灵感来源于层次丰富的城市景观,以及这些景观在劳斯莱斯车首飞翔女神丝滑的金属表面上反射出的炫目光影。这件作品借鉴了毕蓉蓉在长期工作中积累的如百科全书一般的城市景观档案,在融合使用古老工艺和创新技术的同时,也让不同的时空连接交错。

如果文明是土地,那么城市就是生长在这片土地上的森林。森林中有很多看不见的部分埋藏在土地下。细细观察下,我们可以从中学习到很多......因此,在我自己的艺术实践中,我也以一种非常自由的方式定位自己,让环境来启发我的创作灵感。

毕蓉蓉

Image Credit Bi Rongrong, Stitched Urban Skin, 2022. ©️Muse, Rolls-Royce Art Programme. Photo by Luke Walker

#服务商

艺术咨询

制作

数码模型与渲染
施工图纸绘制和工程认证
模具制作
喷漆车间
模具制造
焊接与制造

维保

安装

#项目概况

创意者

毕蓉蓉

艺术品名

缝合的城市皮肤

项目

Spirit of Ecstasy Challenge

业主

Rolls-Royce Motor Cars

年份

2023

位置

伦敦,英国

#相关项目

Nike Savvas

悉尼,澳大利亚

Nike Savvas

凤蝶

Cannupa Hanska Luger

纽约,美国

Cannupa Hanska Luger

消逝

周日央

上海,中国

周日央

下腰女孩共栖廊下

Brook Andrew

悉尼,澳大利亚

Brook Andrew

跳跃城堡战争纪念馆

Bi Rongrong

Bi Rongrong

#Stiched Urban Skin

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM

Born in 1982, Ningbo. Currently lives and works in Shanghai. In recent years, her works are closely related to walking and collecting behavior. The artist believes that the urban skin can be the ornamental patterns carved on buildings, the patterns of fabrics wrapped around the body, the information of posters posted on the street walls, the vegetation rooted in the corner of the city, and so on. Bi Rongrong collects them from different times and spaces, and merges them in her unique creative context. Through manual or digital processing, she transforms them into a variety of mixed media works including painting, collage, fabrics, video and site-specific installation. The fragmented images and patterns from her works, although separated from their original context, grow by themselves in another way, and constantly transform into new image landscapes in new spaces. 

Titled Urban Skin, Bi's winning artwork for the Spirit of Ecstasy Challenge consists of three layers of two-dimensional sheets made from different materials: specially treated metal, an animated LED light sheet, and a Perspex sheet embedded with crochet. The artwork is inspired by the multi-layered landscape of cities and their mesmerizing reflections on the glossy surface of the Spirit of Ecstasy. The piece draws on Bi's encyclopaedic archive of urban imagery, utilising both ancient craftsmanship and innovative technologies, interlacing different locations and histories.

UAP worked closely with the artist to integrate materials such as acrylic, silk thread, aluminium, LED screens, wire, and sound installation materials into this one art piece. This 1.2-metre-long and 1.5-meter-high sculpture incorporated processes like weaving, embroidery, forging, mirror spraying, CNC engraving, and multimedia presentation.  

If civilisation is the land, then the cities are the forests which grow on this land. There are lots of invisible parts of the forests and things beneath the surface. We can learn a lot from looking closely at this surface, …In my own practice, I also positioned myself in a very free way and let the environment inspire me.

Bi Rongrong

Image Credit Bi Rongrong, Stitched Urban Skin, 2022. ©️Muse, Rolls-Royce Art Programme. Photo by Luke Walker

#Services provided

Consultancy

Design Assist

Digital Model & Render
Material Exploration
Construction Methods
Installation Methodology

Workshop

Technical Drawings
Pattern Making
Paint Shop
Mould Making
Welding and Fabrication

#Project summary

Creative

Bi Rongrong

Artwork Title

Stiched Urban Skin

Client

Rolls-Royce Motor Cars

Year

2023

Location

London, United Kingdom

#Related projects

Leonardo Drew

New York City, USA

Leonardo Drew

City in the Grass

Tomislav Topic (Quintessenz)

Beijing, China

Tomislav Topic (Quintessenz)

Follow Long

Florentijn Hofman

Brisbane, Australia

Florentijn Hofman

Messengers of Brisbane

Song Dong

Shanghai, China

Song Dong

I Don’t Know the Mandate of Heaven