徐冰

#鸟飞了

上海,中国

徐冰,中国当代先锋艺术家。他擅长创作强大且凄婉的多媒介装置艺术,他始终以极具突破力的艺术创作拓展着艺术的边界。例如,艺术家徐冰独创的“英文方块字”,一种形似中文,实为英文的新的书写形式,把中文变成无意义的,把英文变成可读的汉字,挑战观者对中西方文化的理解。

毕业于中央美术学院版画系的艺术家徐冰擅长使用多种艺术媒介进行创作,他的作品唤起和颠覆了中国传统文化,如书法、版画和山水画卷。通过徐冰的作品,观众思考我们的文化背景是如何从根本上影响我们的世界观的,尤其是那些由语言塑造的世界观。

徐冰和他的工作室与我们在中国的团队紧密合作,为上海图书馆东馆创作了作品《鸟飞了》。作品由800 多个不同字体的“英文方块字”书写的“鸟”字所构成。“英文方块字”是艺术家徐冰独创的一种形似中文,实为英文的新的书写形式。它被设计成类似于中国的英文方块字。书页中的文字,取自于字典中对“鸟”字的解释,以这篇文字为起点,“鸟”逐渐腾空飞起,从印刷体向楷书、隶书、小篆一路演变, 最后追溯到远古象形文字的“鸟”,成群飞向窗外,寓意通过图书馆阅读、学习,打破思维的框架,没有极限。

徐冰希望该作品通过传达传统和当代艺术观点,能激发读者和观者积极学习的态度,邀请读者思考艺术与人和环境的关系,以此激发想象力。

我希望能够通过这件作品使普通读者和观众对当代艺术有一个新的认识。在很多人的印象中当代艺术比较难以看懂或理解,作为一个当代艺术家,如果我通过我的作品能用比较谦和又美的东西,邀请观者进入,让大家在离开时能带走一些新的启发。

-Xu Bing

我非常荣幸能与世界级的中国当代艺术大师徐冰和他的团队共同合作。在方案初期阶段,艺术家徐冰通过对图书馆空间的理解,自然地将公共艺术装置《鸟飞了》融入建筑空间。艺术品与上海图书馆东馆的完美结合,也为空间增添了无限的活力。在设计深化阶段,艺术家徐冰致力于把控艺术品的所有细节。在安装阶段,艺术家本人在现场调控艺术作品的悬挂方位,几乎每个“鸟“字都会不断地进行调整,长达一个月的安装使作品达到最佳视觉效果。在一起工作的过程中,我看到了徐冰先生对作品的高要求,看到了他认真学习的态度和对艺术的热爱。与艺术家合作的过程使我们受益良多。我也希望徐冰今后能有更多不可思议的艺术作品展出。

-Binkai Hong, Associate
徐冰

徐冰

艺术家

#服务商

Consultancy

公共艺术战略
艺术家选择及管理
Marketing Solutions

Design Assist

数码模型与渲染
材料探索
材料与施工方法
安装

Workshop

技术图纸

#项目概况

创意者

徐冰

艺术品名

鸟飞了

项目

上海图书馆东馆

业主

上海图书馆

年份

2022

位置

上海,中国

制作

UAP

#相关项目

上海,中国

Philippe Parreno

带有律动的、超越既有生命力量的远航本能

曹斐

上海,中国

曹斐

复魅:人民城寨的诞生

Xu Bing

#Living Word

SHANGHAI, CHINA

Pioneering Chinese contemporary artist Xu Bing creates powerful, poignant mixed-media installations in which he subverts systems of language, upending expectations and perception. For example, Xu has famously re-invented Chinese characters and the English alphabet, rendering Chinese nonsensical and English into legible Chinese characters, effectively challenging comprehension of both.

Trained as a printmaker, Xu builds mixed-media installations that simultaneously evoke and subvert centuries-old Chinese cultural traditions, such as calligraphy, woodblock printing, and landscape painting scrolls. Xu asks viewers to consider how our cultural backgrounds fundamentally colour our worldviews, especially those shaped by language.

Xu Bing and his studio worked closely with our team in China to deliver Living Word for Shanghai Library East. The artwork comprises over 804 laser-cut acrylic 'birds' in different writing styles of "square word calligraphy" — a new form of writing created by the artist. It is designed to resemble Chinese square characters in English. These iconic figures soar up from the top left corner of the page, inviting readers to free their minds and explore the ideas of writing, Chinese calligraphy, and the interchange of various cultures.

Xu Bing hopes the work inspires readers and visitors to continue learning and inspire imagination by looking at traditional perspectives and contemporary views, including art's relationship with people and the environment.

I hope to provide the public with a new understanding of contemporary art through this work. Many people have the impression that contemporary art is more difficult to understand. As a contemporary artist, if I can invite the viewer in with modest and beautiful artworks, people may leave with new inspiration.

-Xu Bing

It is my great honor to work with Xu Bing, a world-class Chinese contemporary art master, and his team in the Shanghai Library East.In the conceptual scheme stage, I saw that Mr. Xu Bing had perfect control over the space and naturally integrated the public artwork "Living Word" into the architectural space. The artwork is very consistent with the project attributes, and also adds infinite vitality to the space. In the deepening stage, Mr. Xu Bing devoted himself to controlling all details of the artwork. At the installation stage, the overall installation time of artwork was nearly one month. Mr. Xu Bing came to the site and worked with the team to make the artwork come to the ground perfectly, giving the best effect of artwork to the Shanghai Library East and the readers. During working together, I saw that Mr. Xu Bing had high requirements for his works, his attitude of serious study and his love for art. The experience and experience of these works are worth learning. I also hope that Mr. Xu Bing will have more perfect public art works to show in the future.

-Binkai Hong, Associate

#Services provided

Consultancy

Public Art Masterplans and Strategies
Artist Procurement and Management
Marketing Solutions

Design Assist

Digital Model & Render
Material Exploration
Materials and Construction Methods
Installation Methodology

Workshop

Technical Drawings

#Project summary

Creative

Xu Bing

Artwork Title

Living Word

Project

Shanghai Library East

Client

Shanghai Library

Year

2022

Location

Shanghai, China

Build

UAP

#Related projects

Okuda San Miguel

Shenzhen, China

Okuda San Miguel

Sky Unicorn

Warwick Keen

Sydney, Australia

Warwick Keen

GAWURA

Abdullah M. I. Syed

Sydney, Australia

Abdullah M. I. Syed

Tesserae Wall, 2022