于吉

于吉

#石、藤壶、核

上海,中国

艺术家于吉在创作中使用类型多样的材料,作品媒介包含雕塑、装置、行为表演和录像。她的作品意在表达对“地点”这一概念的探寻,以及地理和历史叙事如何改变特定场地。此外,于吉在创作中接纳材料本身的缺陷,并以此反思周遭环境的不稳定性和无法预计的改变。

作品《石、藤壶、核》的创作灵感来自艺术家对不同水体的观察——从她上海工作室旁的海滨滩涂到美国东北海岸的湖边岩床。对她而言,水从具体记忆演化而来,继而蜕变为有关时间和衰败的神话般的叙事,它可以捕捉转瞬即逝的时刻以及各种运动,而非具体的场地。借助各种媒介,于吉探索着“变化”这一主题:金属的腐蚀、水的流动、光线的变化、自然材料的衰败——开启一场现实和记忆交织的旅程。

进入展厅内,参观者将沉浸在光与影的协奏中,它们照亮了作品起伏的表面和侵蚀而成的肌理,将流动的节奏造就为视觉的感受。《拔地 II》(2022年)与《半皮半肉III》(2022年)是她创作的两件大型作品,前者结合了大型金属板雕塑和投映其上的水的动态影像,后者则是一块如地毯般贴抚于地面的铅板,表面呈现波浪起伏的形态。艺术家的创作实验涉及作品表面肌理和尺度,她在金属毯上附加了一组与沉船和有机海洋生物有关的小型雕塑,同时也为铅板赋予了一个隆起的结构,似在暗示着一个看不见的人形的存在。

通过与来自上海的独立当代艺术策展人李棋的密切合作,爱彼当代艺术创作项目(Audemars Piguet Contemporary)以委托形式,支持艺术家于吉的研究与创作。作品《石、藤壶、核》中于吉首次涉及了大体量雕塑制作和采用金属腐蚀手法改变材料肌理的全新制作工艺。

UAP与艺术家于吉密切合作,共同交付了这两件作品。第一件作品使用抛光技术制作了这块青铜板,随后艺术家与UAP共同商榷如何悬挂这有着一定重量的作品。第二件作品使用了铅制工艺,这是UAP第一次使用铅制材料。它是一种非常容易变形的金属材料,能够非常自然地表现出有机形态。这次的项目交付也象征着UAP在作品材质上的大胆尝试和实践。

创作《石、藤壶、核》的过程中,我尝试了全新的制作工艺,并首次挑战大体量雕塑制作。感谢李棋和爱彼当代艺术创作项目在创作上为我提供的支持,也感谢他们给予我在上海西岸艺术与设计博览会展出这件作品的机会。

——于吉,艺术家

于吉正在拓展创作实践并探索新的创作材质。与爱彼当代艺术创作项目的合作,使这项作品成为可能,并且拥有了一个展出作品的平台。该项目也标志着于吉的创作时间进入了新的阶段。我期待看到观众对她演化式创作方法的反馈。

——李棋,独立当代艺术策展人

Image Credit: Courtesy of the artist and Audemars Piguet

于吉

于吉

艺术家

#服务商

Consultancy

艺术品短期主题活动

Manufacturing

数码模型与渲染
施工图纸绘制和工程认证
模具制作
模具制造
焊接与制造
表面处理与化学着色

Preservation

安装
安装

#项目概况

创意者

于吉

艺术品名

石、藤壶、核

项目

石、藤壶、核

业主

爱彼

年份

2022

位置

上海,中国

制作

UAP

#相关项目

Camille Norment

纽约,美国

Camille Norment

无题 (2022)

Benjamin Storch

上海,中国

Benjamin Storch

筑梦之心

Lindy Lee

布里斯班,澳大利亚

Lindy Lee

球体

Yu Ji

Yu Ji

#Stone, Barnacles, and Seeds

SHANGHAI, CHINA

Yu Ji is known for her diverse material practice spanning sculpture, installation, performance and video. Her work is motivated by an exploration of the concept of place and how specific locations can be changed by both geographical and historical narratives. She embraces material imperfections to reflect upon instability and unanticipated change within our environments.

The inspiration for “Stone, Barnacles, and Seeds” comes from the artist’s travels to various bodies of water—from the tideland by her seaside studio in Shanghai to the rock bed of a lake at the northeastern coast of America. For her, water morphs from a concrete memory into a mythical narration of time and decay—capturing a fleeting moment and its various movements, rather than a specific location. The theme of transformation is explored through the lens of various media—the eroding of metal, movement of water, changing of light, the decay of natural materials—denoting a journey that interweaves reality and memory.

Entering the exhibition, visitors will be immersed in a concerto of light and shadow illuminating undulating surfaces and textures to create a visual sense of flowing rhythms. Filmed imagery of water in mundane urban settings titled “Late Wave” (2021) plays intermittently on a retro television monitor. Two monumental sculptures anchor the piece—“Protrude II” (2022), a large bronze plate onto which the artist projects a video of water in motion, and “Half Peel Half Pulp III” (2022), a lead carpet formed into the organic shape of a wave. The artist experiments with texture and dimension, layering the metal carpet with sculptural references to organic sea material and sunken wreckage, while adding a divot within its surface alluding to the phantom presence of a human figure. 

Throughout the exhibition, a performer peeled a jackfruit, depositing the skin within the artwork. The repetitive activity comments on time and transforms the artwork into an evolutionary process.

UAP worked closely with Yu Ji to figure out how to suspend this Bronze panel, which was fabricated and patinated by the team in China. Then, lead fabrication was introduced to the project scope to create the floor piece. This was the first time UAP worked with lead fabrication. It is a very deformable metal material capable of producing a natural organic form. Still, it is also very toxic, so the team cautiously handled it. 

Developing “Stone, Barnacles, and Seeds” has allowed me to explore new fabrication techniques and take on the challenge of larger-scale sculpture. I am thankful to Li Qi and Audemars Piguet Contemporary for their support in creating the work and providing me the opportunity to exhibit this piece at West Bund.

-Yu Ji, Artist

Yu Ji is expanding her practice and mastering new textures. The collaboration with Audemars Piguet Contemporary has made this work possible and provided a platform to showcase this new commission which marks a new phase of Yu Ji’s practice. I look forward to seeing how audiences respond to her evolving creation.

-Li Qi, Independent Curator of Contemporary Art

Image Credit: Courtesy of the artist and Audemars Piguet

#Services provided

Consultancy

Temporary Program

Manufacturing

Digital Sculpting & 3D Modelling
Design Development Support
Pattern Making
Mould Making
Welding & Fabrication
Finishing & Patina

Preservation

Installation
Installation

#Project summary

Creative

Yu Ji

Artwork Title

Stone, Barnacles, and Seeds

Project

Stone, Barnacles, and Seeds

Client

Audenars Piguet

Year

2022

Location

Shanghai, China

Build

UAP

#Related projects

Shahzia Sikander

New York City, USA

Shahzia Sikander

NOW

Brook Andrew

Sydney, Australia

Brook Andrew

Jumping Castle War Memorial

Vera Möller

Wollongong, Australia

Vera Möller

The Dragonettes

Haas Brothers

California , USA

Haas Brothers

The Academy Museum of Motion Pictures Pillar Awards